Interview with Walter Swinburn

Just last week I had the privilege to sit and chat with Derby-winning jockey and successful trainer Walter Swinburn. Until he gave up his licence in October he trained a string of horses at the Church Farm stables in Aldbury, which is about 2 miles from where I live in Tring.

I have to confess I was more than a bit nervous at the prospect of interviewing such a well-known celebrity from the world of racing, for my humble little blog.

The memories are still crystal clear,” reflected 50-year-old Swinburn. “The thing about Shergar is, even though I didn’t realise it at the time, it soon became clear that there wasn’t going to be another one like him.

During our conversation we got to talk about that Derby ride, Shergar, his transition from jockey to trainer, and his plans for the future.

Read the full interview at SkyBlueKangaroo and please let me know which famous racing celebrities you've met.

 

Leave a comment